Region 9 Economic Development District of Southwest Colorado

Region 9 Header Image

Region 9 News & Press

Thirty Enterprise Zone Contribution Projects Approved for 2015

December 31, 2014

Thirty area organizations have been recertified as Enterprise Zone Contribution Projects by the Colorado Economic Development Commission. This designation allows donations made to these organizationís projects eligible for a 25% state tax credit on cash donations and a 12.5 % state tax credit on in-kind donations.

Organizations include: the Bridge Emergency Shelter, La Plata Economic Development Alliance, the Four Corners Film Office, Housing Solutions for the Southwest and Axis Health Systems. There are five projects in Archuleta County, one in Dolores, six in Montezuma, one in San Juan, three regional projects with the remaining in La Plata County.

In 1986, the Colorado State Legislature approved the Enterprise Zone Tax Credit program to assist economically distressed areas of the state. In Southwest Colorado, all of Montezuma, Archuleta, San Juan, and Dolores Counties are designated enterprise zone areas. La Plata County has some areas that are not considered distressed, and thus not included.

A list of eligible Enterprise Zone projects and program information is available online at, or by calling the Region 9 Economic Development District at 970-247-9621.